How should I model entities choosing an optimal counterparty in specs?

(Chechy Levas) #1

I am new to Rust and new to coding with an ECS.
I am building a simulated economy, and using it as an opportunity to learn Rust and ECS.
The core idea is that you have all these economic agents (people, food stores, farms, etc) interacting by engaging in transactions (trading food, trading labor etc).

The cycle I want to use is that at each iteration of the main loop

1. Some entities advertise a passive offer. For example, each food store will advertise the prices and quantities it is willing to trade food at.
  2. Some entities will browse available offers and select an optimal offer to to try and trade with. Optimality can be based on any arbitrary function of the offer such as proximity and price.
  3. Trades are matched with offers in random order for each offerer and are accepted for as long as the offerer has stock to satisfy the trade.

Then Offerers update their offers based on new stock levels or some other information and we loop back.

So what is an effective way to model this? My thoughts so far, focusing on the case of a Person buying Food from a FoodStore .

It seems clear the following components are required

#[derive(Component)]
struct Money(f64);

#[derive(Component)]
struct Food(f64);

I probably need a marker component to identify a Person or a FoodStore

#[derive(Default)]
#[derive(Component, Debug)]
#[storage(NullStorage)]
struct Person;

#[derive(Default)]
#[derive(Component, Debug)]
#[storage(NullStorage)]
struct FoodStore;

It bothers me that these 2 aren’t mutually exclusive so that already suggests a design failure.

And I expect I need a system for each of the elements of the above mentioned loop.

Thinking about the first system: setting offers. An offer could, in principle, be a component of a food store.