References between Components

(Neidhart Orlich) #1

Hi!
I am new to Rust and decided to learn the language by implementing a simple game with amethyst. I read the book and I believe I understand basic ownership rules. This is btw also my first time using an ECS.

The question is probably really basic, but I just can’t figure it out.

My game is a simple board game on a chessboard. On the board, there are 64 squares. There can be a piece on each of these squares.

I register a square entity like that in the world:

world
                .create_entity()
                .with(square)
                .with(sprite.clone())
                .with(transform)
                .with(coordinates)

Now one rule of the game is that a piece can be moved to its neighboring square. But that’s the tricky thing. How can a square know its neighboring square? I can’t reference it directly because the ECS owns all squares and I can’t borrow it after I pass it to the world.

The only solution I can imagine is to collect a list of all squares every time I want to move a piece within the run method of the piece moving system and calculate the neighboring squares by comparing their coordinates. As I would have to do this every single time from scratch and can’t cache the result because again I can’t save references to the components because the ECS owns the components I am afraid that’s not very efficient.

How would you solve this problem? And even if it wasn’t the solution - is it In any way possible that components - especially components of the same type - reference each other or that there would be a long living outside (non ECS) instance (i.e. the cache) that references a component?

Also, is this the right place to ask a question about this topic? If there is a better place, I will move my question of course there.

Thank you