Terrain Engine library for Amethyst

I’m working on a terrain engine called Gaiku that would have an amethyst implementation.

The main goals of the library are not so clear yet, just because I’m still learning about it and never worked on a project like this, but took inspiration on an Amethyst RFC.

But describing basically the project (besides of what is in the readme of the repo) is to have an implementation that works for 2D and 3D terrains, using a system similar to Amethyst assets loading, where you have different file readers implementations (gox, png, tmx, etc) and bakers (mesh generators) that would generate meshes using different algorithms (voxel, marching cubes, tiles, etc), and other systems that would help you to load/unload the chunks based on player position, and also use LOD too.

Right now the library is still immature and heavily under development so it would change a lot in the future, also what would set roadmap will be the projects that use this library, because this will evolve according to the needs of those projects, so if anyone want to tell me what they expect for this kind of library and/or give advice/critisism about it I’m open to read them.

PD: Also thanks @erlend_sh for the mention in the post

4 Likes

(Erlend Sogge Heggen) #2

That’s a lot of work compressed into very few words! :wink: What particular path will you be going down first? Based on what research and prior art.

Are you making a game of your own as well that you’re planning to use this in?

0 Likes