Welcome, say hello!

(Ellie Fagerberg) #1

Introduce yourself to the community! Tell us a little about who you are, what you do and why you’re here. Maybe you have a cool project you have worked on before that is related to Amethyst or game development in some way. Perhaps your plan is to create a life simulator with Amethyst utilizing the power of entity component systems. Anything goes pretty much as long as you’re being nice and respectful of course. :wink:

Welcome to the world of Amethyst! :heart:

3 Likes

(Dustin Bensing) #3

Hi, my name is Dustin and i am a software engineer located in Berlin, Germany. Game development or specifically 3D engine (programming) was the very reason that got me into programming and set the pathway to my current career. i’ve never really pursued a career in this field after my initial excitement but it was always a thing i was interested in and that i dedicated some of my free time to play around with it.

In my early years i was always interested in how things are working in that box called a PC. And in like the 7th grade i really got interested in how the games i was playing actually work and how these things are created. I remember a moment i was in the store looking for some new games (and yes this was how the kids in 1998 collected their games, steam did not exist :smiley: ) i found a random (Game-Creation-Kit) [unfortunately i can’t remember the name to thank/credit its developers]. This was the time Half-Life, Unreal, Rainbow-Six (the first one) … etc. came out and i really want to know how these works and how to make something like this.